Moloney Racing are excited to welcome a new member to the team, in second-year apprentice jockey, Tayla Childs.

Childs, the daughter of duel-Cox Plate winning jockey, Greg, and twin-sister of Group 1 winning jockey, Jordan, recently had her indentures transferred to John, and we look forward to watching her progress towards her first race ride.

Getting to know Tay:

Age: 22

Star sign? Pisces

What were you like in high School? Bubbly and had a good bunch of friends

Biggest achievement in life so far? Competing at the Melbourne International 3-day Event and getting accepted into the Victorian Apprentice Jockey Program

What age did you start riding horses? My parents got my brother and I a Shetland pony when we were 3, so I can’t remember ever not being around horses

Have you always wanted to be a jockey and why? Not really! It was always something I thought about growing up, but never followed through with it till after school. I completed VCE year 12, and then decided to take up a university teaching degree. I did 2 years of Uni and although I did enjoy it, I still had the ambition of becoming a jockey and was always thinking ‘what if?’. Michelle Payne won the Melbourne Cup, and that influenced me to apply for the program as I knew it would open up a lot of opportunities for female riders!

Who are your biggest mentors/role models? My mum, dad and brother

Favourite jockey/s? Kerrin McEvoy & Craig Williams

Favourite food? Anything Italian

Favourite drink? Moscato

Dream car? BMW

Favourite band/singer? Anything on the top charts

Favourite movie? Dreamer, Mean Girls & London Has Fallen

Favourite place you’ve ever visited in the world and where would you love to go next? Either London or Greece! I’d love to go to New York next

Other hobbies outside of racing? Catching up with friends and competing my horse in eventing

Who would you most like to swap places with for a day? Taylor Swift

What annoys you the most? Losing things and not remembering where I put it!

If you could only choose one store to spend $10,000, what would it be? Maybe Myer because it’s got everything!

What are your hopes and dreams for your riding career? Like most, to outride my claim and to become a group-1 winning jockey

The one TV show you never miss? Home and Away

Have you ever had a job outside of racing? My first job was at Moonee Valley Racecourse working as a waitress when I was 15, I also worked at Maccas and at a clothing store before I got into racing full time

Favourite time of the day and why? Probably the end of the day when I can relax and have dinner!

Messy or organised? Organised I like to think! I picked that up from my mum

Do you have any pets? I grew up on a hobby farm, so a few! Horses, sheep, cows, dogs, cats, chickens and even a peacock!

Favourite quote/motto? Dream big, work hard, stay focused and surround yourself with good people. Make it happen.

Pin It on Pinterest